19-24 June 2022
National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center, Hsinchu, Taiwan
Asia/Taipei timezone
XRM2022 proceedings is now published!!

Werner Meyer-Ilse Award

Werner Meyer-Ilse Memorial Award

About the award

The Werner Meyer-Ilse Memorial Award is given to young scientists for exceptional contributions to the advancement of x-ray microscopy through either outstanding technical developments or applications, as evidenced by their presentation at the International Conference on X-ray Microscopy and supporting publications.

Nominees are qualified if they have performed this work as part of a completed Ph.D. thesis during the two-year period prior to and including the conference, or are expected to receive their degree in the near future. The topics should be appropriate to the themes of the conference, and the work must be available to the award committee as conference papers, publications, or preprints at the time of nomination.  Nominees must have submitted a short paper on their work requesting an oral presentation to the conference. The paper submission deadline of the conference (15 Mar. 31 Mar. 2022) is also the deadline for submission of nominations for the award.

Nominators should supply the nominee’s name, affiliation, CV, and contact information, and provide a short (maximum length of one page) description of the work performed by the nominee and an explanation of the importance of the work.  Please use the WMI award nomination form and include copies of relevant publications or preprints. Supporting letters of recommendation are strongly encouraged. Joint nominations (nominating more than one person for the same work) are not allowed.

For nomination submission or questions, please contact the award committee chair, Juergen Thieme.

Award committee

Juergen Thieme (BNL, USA – committee chair) 
Michael Feser (USA) Poster Awards 
Anne Sakdinawat (Stanford University, USA) 
Mirna Lerotic, 2nd Look Consulting, Hongkong) 
David Paterson (Australian Synchrotron, Australia) 
Pierre Thibault (Univ. of Trieste, Italy) 
Timm Weitkamp (SOLEIL, France) 
Akihisa Takeuchi (SPring-8, Japan) 
Gung-Chian Yin (NSRRC, Taiwan)

History of the Award

Werner Meyer-Ilse was chair of the International Program Committee for XRM’99 and leader of the X-ray microscopy program at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.  Werner died in a tragic automobile accident a few days before the 1999 conference. To honor his work and legacy the Werner Meyer-Ilse award was establish and awarded for the first time at the XRM’99 at Berkeley, USA.

The Werner Meyer-Ilse award consists of a medallion, citation and a US$1,000 cash prize and is presented at each occasion of the International Conference on X-Ray Microscopy.

Previous Recipients


Claire Donnelly (ETH Zuerich and Paul Scherrer Institute) 
For her work on hard X-ray magnetic tomography as a new technique for the visualization of three-dimensional magnetic structures.

Marie-Christine Zdora (University College London) 
For developments on advanced X-ray phase-contrast and dark-field imaging with the unified modulated pattern analysis.


Matias Kagias (ETH Zuerich and Paul Scherrer Institute) 
For the development of novel micro-fabrication techniques for grating interferometry and a novel, Hilbert-based fringe-analysis framework to efficiently extract high-resolution quantitative information from differential phase contrast data.

Junjing Deng (Northwestern University and Argonne National Laboratory) 
For his work on X-ray ptychography and fluorescence microscopy of cryogenic biological samples.


Kevin Mader (ETH Zuerich) 
For development of automated, high-throughput, quantitative x-ray tomography enabling large-scale studies of hundreds of samples with high statistics.


Irene Zanette (Universite Joseph Fourier)
For development of a highly sensitive x-ray grating interferometer imaging system and development of novel image acquisition and processing schemes for dose reduction and image quality improvement.

Stephan Werner (Humboldt University Berlin)
For the pioneering developments and realization of high efficiency, high-resolution on-chip stacking zone plates.


Christian Holzner (Stony Brook University of New York) 
For developments across many fields of x-ray microscopy, including detector development (segmented and pixel array detectors), phase contrast imaging (differential and scanning Zernike), full-field tomography methods (Zernike filtering), and scanning x-ray fluorescence tomography.


Pierre Thibault (Paul Scherrer Institut) 
For pioneering new work in coherent diffraction imaging and ptychography

Anne Sakdinawat (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab.) 
For the development of modified zone plates for phase contrast and high depth of focus applications.


Weilun Chao (Center for X-Ray Optics, Berkeley) 
For the fabrication of Fresnel zone plates with 15nm finest zone width and for demonstrating their focusing properties.


Michael Feser (Stony Brook University of New York) 
For his development of a segmented solid state detector and Fourier filter imaging for the scanning transmission x-ray microscope.


Jianwei Miao (Stony Brook University of New York) 
For his contributions to the development of x-ray image formation based on the recording and reconstruction of the diffraction pattern from a non-crystalline object.

Daniel Weiss (Institute for X-Ray Physics, Göttingen) 
For his contributions to the development of x-ray tomographic imaging of cryogenically prepared biological specimens.


Thanks to our sponsors and exhibitors